Butterfly Body Instructions ( HPL & Tatting Butterfly )


Butterfly body instructions:

Begin with a piece of thread about 3 yards long, in whatever color you wish.  Two shuttles CTM or finger tatting.

Ring 1 ( 3 – 3 – 2 )
Split Ring 2 ( 2 + 5 – 2  / 5 )
Split Ring 3 ( 2 + 7 – 2 / 7 )
Split RIng 4 ( 2 + 2 VLP 6 + 2 – 2 / 2 VLP 6 + 2 )  2nd & 3rd joins are to the VLP on the same side of this ring after inserting the HPL on the VLP.
Split RIng 5 ( 2 + 3 / 3 ) tie the ends in a double overhand knot, then tie double overhand knots in each of the thread ends for the antennae, cut thread ends.

7 Responses to “Butterfly Body Instructions ( HPL & Tatting Butterfly )”

  1. Hope Says:

    Isn’t it loverly??? Awesome colors… beautiful balance.. I love this butterfly body!! Thanks for sharing the pattern!

  2. ruthperry Says:

    Thanks Hope, and thank you for the most excellent class at Palmetto. HP: and Precious butterfly were great fun to learn. Since this is really just a variation on your butterfly I am deeply honored that you like it. Hugs,
    Ruth

  3. tattingchic Says:

    Wow! That is a very pretty butterfly! I really like this one! 🙂

    ~TattingChic ♥

  4. Anna Killian Says:

    Wow your web site is so AWESOME! I just found it today while looking for easy patterns & instruction for doing some of the tatting & hairpin lace I used to do with my Grandma & Mother. I buried my tallents for tatting, sewing, crochet, art & music. Then one day my oldest son caught me doing a small counted cross stich. He wanted to know what else I could do & why we had a big piano that just sat. Well thats when he found out I buried my tallents to please a mother-in-law. In the mean time I cry for my loss. So my 5 boys now encourage my tallents along with my sister (21 years older than I am – I am now 54) has just found our Grandmothers hairpin lace on an acctual haipin with a wooden spool of #60 white thread & a little tiny chrochet hook. Now bless my sister she wants me to teach HER how to tat & crochet. I would love to get a copy of the butterfly to get her going on. I don’t think it would be too hard. Thanks for being out there in this silly world for the last ones in a family who have to teach the elders! LOL Keep your fingers flying girl!{;-)

  5. Sally Says:

    How can I get the pattern for the rest of the butterfly? It is so amazing.

  6. Lee Says:

    Do you have patterns for the wings? This is awesome

  7. ruthperry Says:

    The pattern for the wings of this one and several more tatted hpl butterflies is in a book for $11 available from me.
    Ruth

Leave a Reply

