Christmas 2023 Snowflake

A short blurb about my neglect of this sight for a while. I had cataracts, cataract surgery both eyes, retinopathy, laser surgery – several times, both eyes, secondary cataracts, surgery both eyes… I don’t see as good as I used to when I was younger, but I am blessed that I can still see to get around. I couldn’t tat with anything smaller than size 3 thread for quite awhile. Now, I can manage size 10 thread. I can live with that for now.

Published by ruthperry

I am a retired IT professional who enjoys designing tatted lace. I learned tatting from my mother when I was very young. I have written a number of tatting books under the pen name Rozella Florence Linden. My husband and I have five kids, seven grandkids, and our first great grand daughter will be a year old in December 2018. We live in Tampa FL.

5 thoughts on “Christmas 2023 Snowflake

  1. I was wondering why you were sharing very basic patterns on FB. Hope your eyesight improves more. I have been diagnosed with cataracts in both my eyes, still at a very nascent stage – could be age, could be longterm steroids. Thank you for this lovely flake pattern.

    1. I hope yoii avoid all the pitfalls that come with age. I tell people “life is like a video game, I have reached an advanced level where you have to fight monsters to continue the game”. I have a passion for doing patterns for beginners. I share some things for free and some I just put out there in the public domain. I want to encourage people to just keep on trying. Blessings to you nd to all tatters everywhere. Especially to those people who are yet to learn.

  2. Good day, Ruth. Our passions needs must change. I’ve been cursed with very slow growing cataracts so I feel your pain, but secondary? My oh my! I too can still see to ‘get around’ but tatting has become a thing of the past. I know you’re finding joy in all that you do! God bless you in your efforts. You are appreciated.

      1. Waiting – sometimes impatiently. It’s been 15 years at the least, progressing so slowly.

Leave a comment